First laugh


It was AMAZING!!!

Thea had been grizzly so I’d carried her into the kitchen and laid her on her little knitted mat.

The change of scenery helped but the calm didn’t last so I got down on the floor with her and joined in her “chatting”.

I also started doing some baby yoga with her – pushing her feet to her head and back down while saying “up you go and down you go” in a stupid “mum talking to baba” voice (it’s times like these I wonder what’s become of me).

On the fourth or fifth one she suddenly giggled.

I wasn’t sure I’d heard it right so I did another Up and Down and there it was, a definite chuckle!

Naturally I was there for another ten minutes, utterly delighted by her! It was gorgeous. A proper heart-melt moment. And this is coming from a girl who is utterly unmoved by baby laughter normally and actually finds it’s use in ads and stuff quite nauseating!

I am a baby laughter convert!

It took me over a week to find the next thing to make her laugh and believe me, I have spent an inordinate amount of time on the kitchen floor trying to recreate the moment with no joy.

Her second laugh happened just yesterday and was, again, after a grizzly moment. We were sat on the couch and I was bouncing her up and blowing on her belly and then kissing it before bringing her down again.

It was even more beautiful the second time.

I found my calling. Making Thea laugh is what I want to do with my life now!

Leave a Reply

