39 weeks pregnant – Braxton Hicks


Well after all that whinging on about wanting to go into labour yesterday, I thought I’d got my wish last night.

About 8pm I felt what I can only describe as a strong contraction in my lower abdomen which built up in intensity over about 45 seconds and “flowed” round to my back before disappearing.

I’m still none the wiser as to whether this is really practice contractions (Braxton Hicks) or the very early stages of actual labour to be honest.

They came and went throughout the evening – never really establishing any sort of pattern. They’d be 15mins apart, 8 minutes apart, 5 minutes apart, 20 minutes apart… And anything from 20 seconds to a full minute in length.

I wouldn’t say they “hurt” by they were fairly uncomfortable like a period cramp – I used my HypnoBirth breathing techniques and actually that seemed to make it a lot easier.

Chuck ran me a lovely bath (complete with candles and White noise “ocean waves” soundtrack – he’s amazing) and I worked on my relaxation but I got bored after a half an hour and decided I’d be better off in bed.

So it’s now almost 6am, I’ve decamped to the baby/spare room to escape Chuck’s epic snoring. The “contractions” are still going.

I’ve slept most of the night and it wasn’t this pretend (or not, who knows?!) labour that woke me up. It’s just a normal random pregnancy wake up time.

That burning pain sensation I described in an early post – the one that runs from the top centre of the bump to the middle and used to accompany the rib pain – is also very much in evidence this morning.

Quite typically I’ve managed to convince myself it’s a potentially detached placenta so I’m gonna do some Internet diagnosis and see if I can calm my irrational fears.

I forgot to mention that I went to the doctors last week because one of the weird skin tag/freckles that’s appeared on my boobs since pregnancy started to bleed and I immediately decided I had a carcinogenic melanoma!

According to the Internet these things are very common in pregnancy but still… I wanted to be safe. The doctor told me to use hydrocortisone cream on it for a week and come back.

It still looks the same to me but I’m fairly sure it’s nothing more sinister than pregnancy weirdness.

Anyway, I’m giving up on sleep now – gonna have breakfast and see if I can convert these practice contractions into the real thing with a nice long walk…

It would have to be raining!

Leave a Reply

