Pregnancy week 21 – new threads


It’s so important to keep a sense of yourself when your pregnant.

In the first trimester I felt so shoddy I couldn’t be bothered to do my make up and none of my clothes fit me. It was horrible. I’ve rarely had such a crisis in style and self esteem. Pathetic really!

I wasn’t sure if I could have my hair dyed so I just left it until I had two-inch roots in my highlights. It look limp, lifeless and greasy.

I was literally the opposite of “glowing”.

Fortunately I discovered organic hair dye and got my hair sorted (back to brunette). That helped. I felt a bit better about myself after that.

Then I got a couple of maternity tops and felt almost elegant again! Who knew a top could make such a difference.

Make up made a reappearance on the morning routine when – at 16 weeks – I finally managed to drag myself up before 8.30am!

This weekend Chuck and I hit up H&M and I bought two pairs of maternity jeans, a new blazer and a maternity tee. I felt cool again! I’ve been living in leggings and yoga pants from American Apperal.

I also purchased a brand spanking new pair of awesome Nike high-tops.

I feel officially less “harassed pregnant person” and way more “back to my old self but plus a gorgeously dressed bump”.

I know these sort of superficial things probably shouldn’t have such a pronounced effect on my mental state but, seriously, you can’t imagine the joy of looking in a dressing room mirror and seeing yourself pregnant, wider than ever before but looking awesome.

It’s my Gok moment.

The Banana

Length – 27cm
Weight – 360g

The baby is now learning biological functions. Things like her heart rhythm are becoming established and her sleep/wake cycle is starting to kick in. She’s still very skinny and her skin is basically see-through but the brain is also having a huge growth spurt which means her actual size won’t increase too much while energy is focused on growing heart and brain functions. She has fingernails, toenails, eyelashes and eyebrows though!

Leave a Reply

