Worries and woes


Ahhh how much do I love Chuck this morning. He bought me a cup of tea in bed, bless him! I apologetically explained I’d given up tea and he went back downstairs to make me a herbal one. I bloody love my husband.

I haven’t discussed the potential pregnancy with him and it’s SO hard not to talk about it. I really don’t want to get his hopes up or mine for that matter. It’s like talking about this with anyone will make it seem less likely to happen.

Hence the blog and the addiction to Netmums.

Miscarriage

You’re not supposed to mention if you’re pregnant until 16 weeks right? I’m not sure why this is but I have an inkling that it’s something to do with the fact that quite a lot of pregnancies don’t make it to this point and it’s really just to save the heartache of informing everyone.

I’ve saw two friends suffer miscarriages in the last few years and my aunt had one when I was younger. It’s so horrible for the mum! Especially as there is literally nothing you can really do to help them.

I think it’s probably still more awful for women who lose their babies after the 16-week mark.You think you’re safe by then… not that it’s not completely shattering if it happens before too.

The thing is even if you haven’t told people you were pregnant you probably will have to mention your miscarriage. Going through something like that alone would surely make it so much more difficult.

My two friends were very open about their experiences.

My Canadian friend Alice would literally run sobbing from the room when any of the other three pregnant women in the office would talk about symptoms etc. That was bleak.

Still birth

If you lose your baby after 24-weeks then it’s actually classed as a still birth because your child could potentially survive in an incubator. Women like Kelly Brook, Lily Allen and Amanda Holden who lost their babies at 5 month, 6 months and 7 months respectively must have been through hell. The press call these miscarriages but they’re actually still births.

Heartbreaking!

According to the Daily Mail (I know!! I don’t generally read the Mail. Pls don’t judge me.) a women aged 30 has a 12% risk of miscarriage… that seems quite high!

Their expert, Professor Lesley Regan, head of the department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology at St Mary’s Hospital, London, said that early miscarriages are ” often down to chromosomal abnormalities in the embryo” and are actually quite common.

Regan also stated late miscarriages (after 13-weeks and including still births) can be caused by “blood-clotting disorders, anatomical problems with the uterus and cervix, or infections”. Apparently often these problems are treatable so that’s why these late miscarriages affect only 1-2% of women.

‘Early miscarriages (before 13 weeks) are often down to chromosomal abnormalities in the embryo. They are more likely to be a one-off.’

Hypochondriac

Naturally now I’ve terrified myself by reading all this stuff, I’m slightly worried that the weirdness that’s been going on in my lower abdomen for the past week is actually something wrong, not something right!!

I missed my last smear… why, it could be all sorts of cervical or gynecological badness?!

I’m gonna make myself a green tea and ponder my fate with the help of NHS Direct… Ah self-diagnosis. The root of all worry.

Leave a Reply

